1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Come and join our gamer community by registering for free here

Lens Cleaning

Discussion in 'Super Smash Bros. Brawl' started by jesta, Apr 4, 2008.

  1. jesta

    jesta Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now I assume we all heard the news about Japanese Brawl having some complications, i.e. having to send your Wii to Nintendo to get the lens cleaned because it couldn't read the Dual-Layer Brawl disc...

    Well, some US gamers have also experienced the same problem, due to a dirty lens.

    Have you had this problem? Did you send it to Nintendo? Did you clean the lens yourself?

    Lets hope by the time it comes out in Europe that the whole dirty lens problem is over?!
     
  2. knuckles_sonic8

    knuckles_sonic8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Another part of this was that some JPN gamers got their disks damaged some other way. Something about how smoking damaged the disks...?

    In any case, I didn't have any problems with my rental copy of Brawl except with the Masterpieces area which had worse load times than other games but that's to be expected I guess.
     
  3. jesta

    jesta Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The smoking thing was all part of the dirty lenses I think. Nintendo's excuse, people have dirty homes filled with dust and smoke :D
     
  4. knuckles_sonic8

    knuckles_sonic8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Pssh. Poor customer service/support on their part. xD

    So then, did they end up resolving this whole issue because I was hearing a lot about it weeks back but it seems to have died down now.
     
  5. thexcheat

    thexcheat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How would you go about cleaing the lens? Becuase my game is acting up quite often, and i really don't want to send it to Japan.
     
  6. jesta

    jesta Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The only to truely clean your lens without sending it off is to open your Wii case (literally just the case) to make the DVD drive visible, then clean the lens manually with a cotton bud/qtip dipped in window cleaner.

    Heres a picture I found of exactly where the lens is...

    [​IMG]
    (Ignore the cicled screws ;))

    But if your unsure DO NOT attempt it!! At your risk only!! And of course it will void your warranty!
     
  7. Ash

    Ash New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think its pretty poor that the lens can get dirty that easy,a modern console like the wii, you should think it would be built to take smoke etc... things that happen in houses day in day out.....:thumbdown:
     
  8. hockeyhero

    hockeyhero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no one in my family smokes so i have a healthy wii...:D

    Thank god that my brawl works..:)
     
  9. Pranksta

    Pranksta New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    fo' real, same situation here
     
  10. Tywar

    Tywar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had problems with Brawl when I very first got it, and I was very disapointed. Turns out there's a simple way to fix the problem to whoever has a nonworking lense: Send it in to Nintendo. When I did, it took about a week. However, the good part was that I was free, except for the shipping, which was about two dollars. I got a brand new Wii for free because it was so trashed up... but, don't worry, when you get a new Wii, all your previously saved data will be transfered onto the new one.
     
  11. SUX

    SUX New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I freak out if my Brawl donĀ“t work on my Wii.
     
  12. Johnhg7

    Johnhg7 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My MK seems to act up sometimes too.
     
  13. pkf0rtzh4ar

    pkf0rtzh4ar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i dont know if you guys talk about this but...when i put brawl in and i am playing...my cd/dvd player of the wii really gets wild...i have the feeling that it can fall out at any moment...and the online version i also cant move some times for like 2 secs...anyone have tips?
     
  14. Johnhg7

    Johnhg7 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The reaction time may be because of a bad wifi connection and I don't know what you mean with your cd/dvd
     
  15. XANA

    XANA Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    it sounds like the disc is spinning very fast and the drive is louder. it's normal for brawl dont worry.


    PS. i hate nintendo. i get my wii back after it has been "cleaned" and the next day i get errors again. it WAS nintendo as it happened in a day and not 6.5 months!(exaggeration input there.)
     

Share This Page