RPG Combat System

Captain Griffen

Hello everyone. I am currently developing a turn based combat system for a single player RPG. However, I am doing it so that it will be relatively easy to understand and use, as well as requiring little to no instruction in how to play before a complete novice can play. Obviously, in order to be easy to implement, I will be aiming to make all the specifics in the system, such as cooldowns, abilities, heroes, etc. as easy to change as possible.

First, the combat system itself. I'm using a conditional turn based system (similar to FFX), where each time a unit carries out an action, its custom value is set to a value, divided by the unit's speed value (taken from agility, in the case of a hero, or from the speed over a set amount for a non-hero).

However, where the system really shines is the interface. While most WC3 turn based system tend to rely on multiboards, which are difficult to manipulate, can lag, lack detailed information, and are generally annoying, my system makes use of WC3's interface to seamless blend, by using two players, one for the player, and one for the heroes, with advanced control always given, and units unpaused and normal control given when needed. This means that you can utilise ability tooltips, hero icons at the side clearly displaying health and mana, and easily able to see detailed (or not so detailed but still more descriptive, if desired) information.